Annotated Bibliography on: Endangered Species for 7-9 year olds

Topic: Endangered Species

Target group: ages 7-9

Library: Wantagh Public library

Annotated Bibliography

Book Source 1

Rockett, P. (2016). Ten thousand, eight hundred and twenty endangered species in the                               animal kingdom.
This book is a countdown of endangered species and their life cycles, habitats, migration and hibernation, evolution, and classification.  From smallest to largest animals find out other cool facts about legs on spiders and feathers on flamingos.

Book Source 2

Silhol, S., Guérive, G., & Doucedame, M. (2011). Extraordinary endangered animals. New                 York: Abrams Books for Young Readers.

This book contains large beautiful photographs and drawings of 35 endangered species from around the globe.  It discusses habitat, behavior, and the endangered status of each of the animals.  It also talks about the role of us humans in their endangerment and what actions we can take to stop it.

Book Source 3

Campbell, J., & Grano, A. (2016). Last of the giants: The rise and fall of Earth’s most                                   dominant species.

This book first starts talking about past extinct species, how they became extinct, and long it took for their species to be wiped out.  It then discusses current endangered species and their history, zoology, biology, sociology, and how they are linked to humans.  The last section of the book discusses “Call to Action” which talks about resources that you can read about conservation efforts and how you can save some of these animals before they are lost forever.

Book Source 4

Slade, S. (2010). What can we do about endangered animals?. New York: PowerKids Press.

This book looks at endangered species of animals and plants, the reasons they are threatened to become extinct, and what is being done to protect them for the future.

Book Source 5

Dunne, A. (2017). Endangered and threatened animals.

This book is an easy read and contains colorful photos which introduces the topic of endangered and threatened animals.  This is a good book to start with reading about endangered species because it focuses on animals that most people are familiar with and gives you fast facts about each of them and the dangers they face.

Article 1

Zackowitz, M. G. (2015). Species for Sale. National Geographic, 228(1), 30.

This article is about the 181 countries that have agreed to protect over 35,000 species in the world and continue their conservation.   Their job is to make sure everyone is following the law with not hurting the species and ensuring that live in their environment unharmed.

Article 2

Schardt, H. (2015).  7 wins for wildlife!.  Ranger Rick, 49(5), 22.

The article talks about information about different endangered species, including Humpback whale, American bison and Whooping crane, and how the U.S. government is trying to save them from extinction.

Article 3

GO ON SAFARI!. (2012). National Geographic Kids, (423), 14.

The article explores the seven continents and some of the endangered animals that live there. These include island fox in North America, brown spider monkey in South America, blue whale in Antarctica, African penguin in Africa, Iberian lynx in Europe, and giant panda in Asia. Also included are travel facts about each of the continents.

Video Source 1

Freeman, M., Galdikas, B. M. F., Sheldrick, D., Fellman, D., Lickley, D., Warner Home                           Video (Firm), Warner Bros. Pictures (1969- ), … IMAX Filmed Entertainment.                          (2012). Born to be wild. Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video.

This a documentary narrated by a popular Hollywood actor Morgan Freeman.  It is an inspiring story of love, dedication, and the remarkable bond between humans and animals. This film shows orangutans and elephants and the extraordinary people who rescue and raise them, saving endangered species one life at a time. It is a heartwarming adventure where you get to see the real life rainforests of Borneo in south east Asia.

Video Source 2

Fry, S., Cawardine, M., BFS Video (Firm), & British Broadcasting Corporation. (2010). Last                    chance to see: Animals on the verge of extinction. Ontario: BFS Video.

 A comedian and a zoologist travel from the Amazon’s steamy jungles to New Zealand’s icy mountain tops trying to find some of the most remarkable and endangered creatures of Earth.  This is a fun and educational experience where we get to take a peek into the fascinating world that we are in danger of losing.

References

“Extraordinary Endangered Animals.” Rev. of Extraordinary Endangered                                            Animals. Publishers Weekly 19 Sept. 2011: n. pag. Publishers Weekly. Publishers                  Weekly, 11 Jan. 2011. Web. 10 May 2017. <http://www.publishersweekly.com/978-1-               4197-0034-7>.

Goldstein, Gary. “Movie Review: Born to Be Wild.” Rev. of Born to Be Wild. Los Angeles                   Times 8 Apr. 2011: n. pag. LA Times. 8 Apr. 2011. Web. 11 May 2017.                                         <http://articles.latimes.com/2011/apr/08/entertainment/la-et-born-to-be-wild-                        20110408>.

“The Big Countdown: Ten Thousand Eight Hundred and Twenty Endangered Species.”                     Review. Blog post. Goodreads. N.p., n.d. Web. 10 May 2017.                                                          <https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27153739-the-big-countdown&gt;.

Woods, Chelsea. “Last of the Giants: The Rise and Fall of Earth’s Most Dominant Species                   by Jeff Campbell | SLJ Review.” Rev. of Last of the Giants: The Rise and Fall of                       Earth’s Most Dominant Species. School Library Journal (2016): n. pag. SLJ. School                 Library Journal, Apr. 2016. Web. 10 May 2017.                                                                               <http://www.slj.com/2016/04/reviews/books/last-of-the-giants-the-rise-and-fall-of-                 earths-most-dominant-species-by-jeff-campbell-slj-review/#_>.

Xian, T. Y. (2013, August 24). DVD Review: Animals on the verge of extinction [Review of                 the movie Last chance to see: Animals on the verge of extinction]. C3A. Retrieved               May 10, 2017, from http://www.c3a.org.sg/MoviesBook_details.do?id=90

Advertisements

Reflection on Read Aloud

I thought overall my read aloud went well, considering it was first time I ever did one.  It was nice to be able to observe the different styles of my peers before I came up with my own style.  I was nervous at first; I admit it, despite being a high school science teacher for 10 years.  I think I am calmer in front of students than adults.  I wish I was aware of some basic skills before the fact, one being how to hold a book properly during a read aloud.  I was not aware there was a particular and suggested way to hold the book, but I guess this is something to note for the future.

I knew I wanted to choose a book with colors or numbers as I wanted to use props and have the class participate while I was reading the book.  Something that I was not aware of is to try and memorize some of the lines.  I find this to be a great idea as it would allow me to have more eye contact with the audience.  My overall goal however was to keep the audience engaged in the story and so I was not aware that I should stop at some pages and provide explanations, or ask questions to draw information from the audience.  Myself personally, I like to stick to the book and not get distracted by anything else.  When everyone else was going off on a tangent about the book, the characters, or the pictures, I forgot about what the book was actually about.  A read aloud I thought was reading a book to the class with a couple of questions here and there, but it sounded like I should have done a lesson with the book with the suggestions I got.  I even got a feedback that said I should offer “rewards or incentives” for the students getting the correct color for each page.  So I am not quite sure if I should have taught a lesson or stuck to the guidelines listed on the syllabus.  My ultimate goal was to stick to the guidelines.

Looking back on my initial report written, the one part I skipped was asking the class to make predictions about the last several pages.  I guess this would have gone over better with the class as it would have given me an opportunity to keep the students engaged and talk about the different aspects of the books.  Aside from that, I feel as though I stuck to my plan of using the color card props along with the story to allow for audience participation.

Comic Books: Gum Girl; She’s got gum & she’s not afraid to use it

2017-05-08 (4)

Watson, A. (2013). Countdown to destruction!: 4. London: Walker.

Gum Girl is a bubbly series about a regular school girl Grace who has an alter ego trying to save the world in her disguise as, you guessed it, Gum Girl, the ultimate heroin.  The reading is designed for students in grades 1-3 and is listed under the genre fiction/super hero.  Although its listed as fiction, there are literally references, scientific vocabulary, and historical references which can tie into different subjects that are taught in school at the elementary level.  In addition, each page is visually appealing with bright vibrant colors and easy to read school-like scenarios.  Gum girl uses gum to stop her enemies, tie up her enemies, and throw it on moving devices to track them like a GPS! Never a dull moment, always a good time when reading this series.  The following are a couple of pages showing the loud colors the illustrator and writer, Andi Watson, uses to keep his audience engaged.

2017-05-08 (2)

2017-05-08 (1)

The reason why I chose this comic is first because of the appealing colorful cover, and second because I’m all about “girl power”!  I love seeing females as superheroes because the majority of the classic super hero comics are all males.  Nowadays its important to make sure all groups are represented in books, not necessarily for political reasons, but more so for psychological ones.  Everyone should feel like they can be a superhero, or have super powers!  It’s one of those underlying values that makes you feel that you can do anything you set your mind to despite people doubting you.  The more representation of different genders and ethnicity, the more kids that will be inspired to do great and unimaginable things.

Some read-alikes:

Montijo, R. (2013). The gumazing gum girl!: Chews your destiny.

2017-05-08 (5)

Fontana, S., Labat, Y. C., Kubina, M., & Chiang, J. (2016). Finals crisis.

2017-05-08 (6)

How to Use and Evaluate Digital Media

Kirkus and goodreads are the most common websites used as tools to evaluate books and ebooks.  Most of the time however, they are reviews and recommendations written by professionals like teachers and librarians.  The real evaluation should come from the users themselves: the students, the patrons, and essentially the nonprofessionals.  I found this particular article to be rather interesting with the way they evaluate their media.  The new push apparently is using UGC (user generated content) to evaluate any sort of media, digital included.  According to the article “UGC as a social media initiative, often exists as comments and other utterances produced by users and can be harnessed to better understand the nuances, opinions and preferences of users.”  Using UGC can not only promote a popular well known book, but also those non mainstream books and materials that slip through the cracks or have an independent/self publisher.  Some libraries even allow for users to offer comments directly into their catalogs with the use of social catalogs like bibliocommons.

What i also found interesting about this article is the fact that a lot of independent companies have been partnering with libraries to circulate their materials at a low cost.  Magnatune is an independent music vendor that provides its catalog to libraries under a Creative Commons license.  Other e-book companies like smashwords offer independent authors and publishing companies at various prices.  The poisoned pen press offers an open invite to libraries to embed these small press titles into collections.  Dzanc books publisher as a partner of libraries does not place lending restrictions on the material and permits libraries to continue checking titles out to patrons forever

References

Pecoskie, J., & Hill, H.,L. (2014). Indie media and digital community collaborations in public libraries. Collection Building, 33(4), 127-131. Retrieved from http://queens.ezproxy.cuny.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com.queens.ezproxy.cuny.edu:2048/docview/1658471708?accountid=13379

Intellectual Freedom

 

Intellectual Freedom is a universal librarian value.  As Michelle Atkin discussed about Canada’s ideals on the topic, “The right to intellectual freedom is crucial to the health of the academy and to a vibrant and well-functioning democracy (2012).”  Having access to a diverse collection to continue the flow of information, conversations for debate, and protect the community’s rights to knowledge. Unfortunately however,  “According to the ALA , during the 1990s, 70% of all book challenges were aimed at materials in schools or school libraries (Thompson, 2004).”   A school library may be the only chance for students to have access to books related to their specific interests.  It is our job to foster interests, ideas, and expression, and it can only be done with intellectual freedom.

Although a book may seem inappropriate for an age group, you have to think about the lives of the audience.  Sarah Brannan wrote the picture book Uncle Bobby’s Wedding in 2008 and it was challenged right away.  In “Banned Authors Speak Out” she explains that “I decided that her beloved uncle would marry his boyfriend, rather than his girlfriend, when I heard that there are over a million children in this country being raised by same-sex parents (2009).”  Luckily she had support from the head librarian there, Jamie LaRue, who “wrote a detailed, thorough response explaining why the library wouldn’t take the book off their shelves (p. 196).”   This is a prime example of how librarians need to maintain a collection that reflects the community as a whole, supporting their lifestyle, and expose others interested in a topic.  

In addition to maintaining a diverse collection, it is also important to maintain the profession of a school librarian.  As budget cuts are being administered throughout the country, librarians are being let go and the students are suffering as a result.  Without librarians to actually observe intellectual freedom for children, students will have diminished access to resources, instruction, and services that school librarians provide (Adams, 2011).  One of the main roles of school librarians is to protect minor’s First Amendment right to access information and to demonstrate leadership when there is a formal challenge to a library resource (Adams, 2011).  Only librarians have been trained and know the proper protocol for these challenges and allowing untrained non professionals take control could cause major constitutional backlash.   

Blythe Woolston, author of Black Helicopters, claims “human lives depend on intellectual freedom.”  As children are growing up they need to learn how to exercise free will.  Instead of banning a book and never acknowledging its existence, a better alternative would be to talk about it.  It’s not that fact that we want to protect children against a bad idea, but rather expose them to many other different ideas (Woolston 2015).  Making children aware that there are good and bad books and teaching them the proper approach to them can make them cognizant of the world we live in today.  As they become more aware they’ll be more apt to change, or adapt to crucial situations.  As librarians we can control the access to these sources that better children and humanity as a whole.  

Annotated Resources

Adams, H. R.  (March, 2011).  Fewer school librarians: The effect on students’ intellectual             freedom.  School Library Monthly, 27(6), 52-53.  

Budget cuts have been accounting for librarian lay offs and it comes with repercussions.   Administrators are devaluing the importance of librarians and what they bring to intellectual freedom.  

Anonymous. (2009). Banned authors speak out. Newsletter on Intellectual Freedom, 58(6),           196-230.

This article provides a look into intellectual freedom from the authors’ whose books have been challenged.  They share the inspiration to their books, support they have received from librarians, and how, despite the controversy, people have better enriched from their books

Atkin, M.L. (October, 2012). Examining the limits of free expression through Canadian               case law: Reflections on the Canadian library association’s code of ethics and its                   supporting statement on intellectual freedom. Journal of Education for Library and             Information Science, 53 (4), 239-253.

The Canadian Library Association, like the ALA, has a code of ethics to protect children’s rights to materials.  This explains the reasoning and exceptions that come with such laws.

Thompson, V. (2004). Children’s rights in the library. School Libraries in Canada,  24(4),               38-42.

This article, from a presentation, is to explain the rights of children based on the Canadian Law.  The reader comes to understand that, as a democracy, Canada, just as the United States, protects the rights for children to unrestricted access to materials.  

Woolston, B. (October 2015).  Books unchained: The protective power of access to ideas.            Knowledge Quest, 44(1), 78-80.  

An author who wrote a controversial book about a teen terrorist speaks her mind about depriving children “questionable books.”  She talks about her personal experience growing up and reading books she wasn’t allowed to and getting punished for it.  

 

Diverse Book Review: My Special Cupcake by Julie Lyn Klingel

2017-04-20

The worst feeling in the world for a child growing up is feeling left out and different.  This story is a lighthearted tale about a boy who gets invited to a birthday party but has a severe gluten allergy which does not allow him to eat regular cake.  In order to make him feel comfortable and normal around his friends, his mother bakes enough gluten free cupcakes for all the friends to try at the party.  Not only does this book appeal to children who love birthday parties and desserts, but also to children who have severe food allergies that need to altar their diet.  It’s an easy and entertaining rhyming book to read with your child, or to have your child read to you!  Inspired by true events, it can help make children with allergies feel relate-able, and children without allergies cognoscente of unavoidable anxious situations with others.

Sibert vs NSTA vs NCSS

Getting noticed as a topic specific book is a big deal when it comes to nonfiction books.  Most of the books that get recognized are fiction and literature whether it be by Caldecott or Newbery and as a result the above awards have been established to give credit to amazing non fiction works.  The Sibert award specifically awards any “informational” books with factual information which means that poetry and traditional literature is ruled out.  Reference and nonfiction books are considered but must be published and written in English.

The NCSS (National Council for the Social Studies) offers a Carter G. Woodson Book Award for outstanding books about different ethnicity, specifically racial and ethnic minorities.  Woodson was one of the first African Americans to receive a doctorate and was a practicing journalist, author and historian.

The NSTA (National Science Teachers Association) offers the OSTB award (outstanding science trade books) in collaboration with the Children’s Book Council (CBC).  Together they choose books in alignment with the NGSS (Next Generation Science Standards) and CCSS (Common Core State Standards) which promote science and literacy together.

Sci Fi/Fantasy get no respect

2017-03-29 (7)

There have been constant debates as to why science fiction and fantasy titles are not typically nominated by Newbery award committees. Very few science fiction and fantasy titles have earned the prestigious Newbery Medal, an annual award given by ALSC (Association for Library Service to Children) for ‘quality’ American children’s literature. We find this ironic, considering that fantasy and science fiction are some of the most heavily read genres when it comes to young readers.

One possible theory that we came up with is that an award dedicated to children’s and young adult fantasy and science fiction already exists: it is known as the Andre Norton Award.  The Andre Norton Award was created as a tribute to the prolific author Andre Alice Norton and is given to the authors of the best young adult or middle grade science fiction or fantasy book published in the United States. However, this award only started in 2005, whereas the Newbery Medal began 1921.

We also noticed that literary works such as A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle and When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead have received recognition from Newbery committees, but only because these titles don’t fall under a specific genre.  Aside from that, adults are responsible for choosing Newbery honorees and award winners.  There is no consideration of children’s opinions towards the nominations, sales of books, or circulation of books.  Despite being the most popular genre among children and young adults (38% in 2014 according to Publishers Weekly,) there are few to none science fiction and/or fantasy works recognized each year.  

We also think that the educational realm has some influence too. In recent years, the push for Common Core education has placed a heavy focus on non-fiction media. We believe that this push for non-fiction may have swayed publishing trends in favor of contemporary stories (although now the trends have swung back in favor of speculative fiction—i.e., fantasy and science fiction).

Podcasts vs Reviews

2017-03-29

I don’t typically listen to podcasts.  Not because i don’t like to, only because i never got accustomed to doing so.  However listening to the Publishers Weekly Kids Cast about children’s books was quite fascinating.  Both podcasts i listened to were about recent children’s books that were out and interviews with the authors that wrote them.  I found it to be a good tool to use when reviewing books especially when there is insight from the authors themselves.  It could also arguably be biased, as the author is obviously vouching and advertising their own book.  I do enjoy the different modalities to do essentially the same thing which would be to find a good book based on a book review.

Book Review: The BFG

2017-03-27

A whimsical tale about a little girl named Sophie and her new giant of a friend BFG (Big Friendly Giant) she encounters.  The two set out to save the world from giants who eat children.  They go as far as Buckingham Palace to convince the Queen and to get the army to capture the children-eating giants.  As a thank you for their good deeds, BFG gets to live in a castle next to his best friend Sophie living in a cottage.  Filled with its own vernacular, its an imaginative story for grades 3-5.